What if ?

My mind is currently on fire at the moment, I think it has something to do with the change in seasons – we are slowly moving into springtime here in the UK and the sun is actually shining for more than 2 minutes a day, and to me, everything is better when the sun shines bright!

As a little girl growing up in ‘burbs’ of Melbourne, Australia, I had it pretty bloody good. Middle class, always food in the fridge, (fancy food if visitors came over) and never over scheduled on weekends.  Looking back, what I remember the most, is a very peaceful existence.

Enter the teen years.

Not much changed.

Life was still pretty bloody good.

I remember being about twelve or thirteen, I was walking through the Bulleen Village shopping centre hand in hand with my mum some random day after school, we were headed off to have our coffee and iced chocolate treat (a regular occurrence for mum and I – such a special memory to have now as that grown up girl) when some sort of light bulb went off in my head alerting me to the fact my mum was roughly 10 years older than all my friend’s mums’ (punctuation was never my strong point ‘s s’) and that I needed to cherish the years I have with her not fight them like my other teenager friends.

So that’s what I did, I strolled through my teenager years building a good relationship with my parents and enjoyed having them in my life (and still do – 79 years strong and 80 years stronger!!!)

Now enter my twenties!

Rock on!

I loved my twenties!

What can I say, this time in my life was awesome.  Mum and Dad semi-retired about 2 hours out of Melbourne on the Mornington Peninsula, and my sister was looking for company in her rental apartment – so age 19 I found myself with full-time employment for a pretty fancy Marketing agency in South Yarra, getting good money and living away from home.  While all my friends (lets be serious I really only had two or three real friends) were studying partying at Uni.

Days and nights were ours.

Cars, boyfriends, money, nightclubs, pubs, late night KFC drive through visits, weekends to myself (or not), laughter and more laughter till we peed our pants, it just rocked!

Slight hiccup, I fell in love with the wrong boy, he broke my heart, I took far too long to ‘shake it off’ experienced rapid weight loss and became a little defensive when communicating with the opposite sex.  On reflection this was all in preparation for meeting Mr Right and when I did, the fireworks were electric (still are if your asking!!!)

Being 20 something, sits in my memory as such a carefree way of living.  I smile every time I think about my twenties, I feel light headed and sometimes giddy when I place myself back in time.  I shared most of those days with my BFF Netty, and met my Mr Right a couple of weeks before my 23rd birthday, and they are both still very much apart of my life today.

Enter 30’s.

Long and short of it – I had 4 kids across 2001 to 2009, and moved house 6 times. (currently living in our 10th house, if you’re wondering) That my friends, is how I see my thirties. Nothing more to add.

Onto my 40’s, the decade still in the making.

So the question I pose to you all is….

What if?

What if my best days were behind me now, what if life would plato from here on out.

Ouch!

That doesn’t sit too well with me, I get a little too scared to think the line in the sand has reached its peak and now it’s on a downward slide.

That can’t be it, grow up, play up, have babies and then give up?

Here at SorrentoMoon I have had the most wonderful time being able to express my inner most thoughts to the world (knowing only a handful of family members and friends really see my stuff)  Once I hit publish I am another kilo lighter and I always feel refreshed after I have sent my message into the universe.

To me, SorrentoMoon is my way of detoxing my mind, but I am looking for more.

I am looking for that side of me that used to laugh till she peed her pants, I don’t want to regress back there again, I just want to put a 40 year old spin on that 20 something gal who knew how to have fun.

It is a work in progress, life is a work in progress, but I think I am getting closer to what it looks like – I have been spending time on adding yet another blog site to my collection – It is going to be a hub spot for SorrentoMoon and CelebrateYOU! cards. (and loads more)

It will be a place where I can showcase all the different aspects of my personality that are busting to get out and party but haven’t had anywhere to go for a long time.

I am designing the website myself (mainly because I am too tight to pay someone to do it) so it is taking me a little longer to iron out the small stuff (something a professional would do in 5 minutes is taking me days).

So can I count on my loyal SorrentoMoon fans, followers & friends to stick with me and hang in there until launch day? (date yet to be determined)

I am so excited to get this side of me out into the universe and then see what bounces back at me.

Wish me luck, I need it!!! If I hit a road block I might walk away (I have a tendency not to complete things if it’s all too hard)

Cheers, SorrentoMoon

PS – For those of you who click onto my blog site you will have noticed a slight facelift here at SorrentoMoon and those of you who read directly from the email, have a quick visit and let me know what you think.

3 comments

  1. DianneCowling · April 1, 2015

    I LOVE it – it transports me back to those wonderful relaxing days with the best view in the world and the beach a stone’s throw away from where we sit and sleep for weeks on end.
    I am looking forward to your next web site and seeing more of the creative ‘you’ – HOWEVER I would like to point out that the creative ‘you’ is on show EVERY day in the little people you are raising. Your girls are amazing and full of fun and so free and happy and I just LOVE the little shows they put on for us (I miss them very much). You are raising such well adjusted, beautiful little people with such care – AND instilling in them the BEST values AND living the BEST example of how to have a happy marriage and life. NEVER underestimate the true value of all of these gifts you are giving your children.
    Eventually you may look at your life in terms of before children, raising children and life without children at home. There will be compensations in grandchildren when they finally come along BUT the time without children in the home, caring for them, coordinating your days activities and events to include everyone, not seeing them every day and hearing about their day, can be very difficult and lonely even with a wonderful partner to share the separation.
    It is good that you are finding interests that are NOT about the children NOW so that you can continue to explore ‘you’ into the future when they finally leave their very comfortable happy nest. (some people are lucky enough to have their kids at home until they are sick of them under their feet and can hardly wait until they MOVE OUT!) Not me – my daughter left home at 24 – I put on a stoic front and encouraged her to ‘go forth’. I thought it would takes weeks and weeks before she found a place AND then lots of applications before she would be accepted by a real estate agent seeing as she had NO rental referrals to offer BUT oh NO – her and her 20 year old girlfriend found a place within the week AND the agent said YES within 24 HOURS. I was appalled – BUT put on my smiley face and went through my cupboards sorting out dishes and stuff that they could have to set them up in their new little unit. I even helped with the packing and went over on their first moving in day and helped sort out the unpacking and the setting up of the kitchen. I bought micro fibre cloths and cleaning stuff and other necessities to help set them up. We chatted about the need to decide where things would be best placed in the kitchen so it would work well for cooking etc. The girls listened and decided and I then started unpacking the boxes and put things away for them. this was the easier of the jobs – better than washing floors and other heavy cleaning jobs they had to do.
    I then invited them to my place each Wednesday (their choice) for a roast dinner and invited them to bring their washing (thereby ensuring TWO visits – the second to pick up the cloths when they were dried and ready) I was so smug thinking I would make myself indispensable and ensure lots of contact and keeping me in the loop.
    it was not to be – they bought a washing machine, worked over time and couldn’t make it every Wednesday or even once a week so I then offered to meet Selena at her work once a week for lunch – this worked for awhile but before long HER life intervened and even that came to a halt after awhile – working at Narre Warren and NOT having a set lunch time put paid to that.
    So we enter the next faze in her life – I will be looking to see where I will be of use to her so I can share in part of her life as she changes jobs.
    However I do have lots to fill in my days with the care of my mother, Aunty Pat and my friend Minnie, Church, my research, the book I’m writing and my home renovation which depends on the sale of the land at the back and last but by no means least, my singing.
    I am looking forward to the grandchildren as this will be a very exciting time for me. I just love children and am at my happiest playing with them and watching them at play around me.
    Well I’ve rabbited on enough – I love your blog
    love
    Dianne

    Liked by 1 person

    • SorrentoMoon · April 1, 2015

      Thank you so much for your kind words Dianne – I love that you take the time out to comment here on SorrentoMoon, I always feel happy after I have received a message from you. Yes I get there is a bigger picture to raising kids – it just swallows me up sometimes…. Cheers SM

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DianneCowling · April 1, 2015

    Would love a copy of the picture of the beach

    Love

    Dianne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

