Take this job and shove it or just give me more wine

Google Images

 

I am probably not going to make any new friends over this story, and truly, I do not blog to widen my friendship network – For me, I blog so my brain can offload my inner voice/s.
 
Lately my voices have been working overtime and the conversation is the same every.single.time.
 
The topic
 
‘When Motherhood SUX!’
 
After you strip away the expat lifestyle and all the wonderful trimmings that comes attached, life for me is still motherhood.
 
Raising our girls.
 
Feeding our girls.
 
Nurturing our girls.
 
Teaching our girls.
 
Loving our girls.
 
blah blah blah, and you know what – some days it just bloody well SUX.
 
It is not news that I absolutely loved loved loved the ‘baby stage’ with our girls. 
 
At one time there I was working with 3 – 3 years and under.  Sure there were some tricky times and some days out right painful, somehow though, it never really got to me.  
 
Our babies were good sleepers, good eaters, breastfeeding was hard with baby one and got easier with each additional bubs.  I never danced in celebration that I felt I was doing it ‘better’ than others, what I did do is lower my expectations and every time I managed to get out the door with dressed and fed kids then that was one great day for me and the girls.
 
I found motherhood ‘back then’ to put it simply a breeze.
 
I really did.
 
My husband ‘backed off’ he let me run the show, we worked around kids routines (really I just didn’t go anywhere for the first three years – it worked better for me)
 
Our girls were fun to be around.  
 
I enjoyed being a mum.
 
Now,
 
Well,
 
Not so much.
 
Everyone talks about ‘holding onto the baby stage because it doesn’t last long’ and I remember thinking (when I was in it) I can’t wait to do away with the pram and the nappy bag and the baby wipes.
 
All of a sudden I find myself realising that trying to fold up a stroller, pack and repack a nappy bag is far more easier (and quicker) than trying to negotiate through our day with 2 tweens, 1 teenager and a sassy little 5 year old.
 
I give up.
 
I thought I was doing a pretty good job raising our girls.  Please and thank you’s, respect your elders, never judge, listen, be happy!
 
But it just isn’t working.
 
We are exposing them to absolutely a.m.a.z.i.n.g opportunities and wonders in our world and all I get is ….
 
I HATE YOU MUM
 
I KNOW YOU HATE ME, SO WHY DON’T I JUST LEAVE THE FAMILY MUM
 
THIS IS SO BORING I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU ARE MAKING ME DO THIS MUM
 
I AM HUNGRY MUM
 
WHEN ARE WE EATING, WHY ISN’T THERE ANY FOOD MUM
 
I NEED TO GO TO THE TOILET, WHY ISN’T THERE A WASHROOM HERE MUM
 
WHAT! YOU DIDN’T BRING ANY WATER MUM
 
ARE WE STAYING HOME AGAIN MUM
 
ARE WE GOING OUT AGAIN MUM
 
YOU ALWAYS MAKE THIS FOR DINNER MUM
 
YOU NEVER MAKE THIS FOR DINNER ANYMORE MUM
 
Pouts on faces all bloody day.
 
Trying to get a teenager to smile would have to be one of my hardest daily tasks.
 
This entire family’s day can turn on a dime once our teenage daughter enters the room and then mash it up with 2 tweens who feel their ‘opinion’ is not being heard. ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
I try so very hard not to take on their angst and remain the positive chick I strive to be every.day – but it just wears you down, it really does!
 
I even lowered my expectations to below ‘low’ (if that is even possible) but still no change.
 
Some days I want to ram their heads through the wall all at once.
 
Some days I want to cry and bang my head through the wall.
 
Other days I just want to grab my hubby and run away, go explore this world as ‘dinks’  (double income no kids)
 
Most of the time I keep thinking, this has to pass. I mean IT HAS TO PASS (doesn’t it)
 
Life can’t be reduced to this.
 
Kids constantly looking at you as if I am the worst person to ever enter their world.  Feeling like why bother putting any more effort into motherhood because it appears I have already STUFFED up – so just let it roll whichever way it rolls and maybe ONE out of FOUR will turn out OK!
 
I am sorry but gratitude just isn’t on my mind at the moment, feeling sad and unloved is where I am at today.
 
Give me a crying baby who won’t go to sleep ANY DAY and I will gladly sit in your living room for as long as it takes to rock that baby to sleep.
 
Give me a a household of tweens, teens and sassy and you better provide free wine on demand (screw netflix) 
 
Today I am just not lovin’ it.
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

