How do you solve a problem like Maria!

 
 

Google Images

 
 
Does everyone remember Maria from the world famous The Sound of Music?
 
As the saying goes, “unless you have been living under a rock….”
 
So I am going to assume you know all about her.
 
I have a Maria living in my home.
 
She is self motivated, confident, head strong, over excited, highly intense, caring, polite, high maintenance, did I say confident, a free spirit and many many more explosive describing words.
 
From birth, my “Maria” has been living her life ‘her way’ and from birth, I have been fighting with her to ‘change’ so she could become more like what I thought she needed to be in order to survive in this world and survive in our family.
 
I am a mum of four daughters and every day I do my best to teach and guide them in becoming happy citizens of the world.
 
It could be said I am a ‘tough mum’, a no nonsense mum – I like to do it my way and I like for my girls to fall in line and make my job easy.
 
My “Maria” doesn’t fall in line, she doesn’t make my life easy.
 
I just can not solve her.
 
Today I watched my daughter entertain hundreds of her peers in an impromptu (well, one day rehearsal) middle school, music thingy celebration.
 
All the kids had to get up as a class and ‘lip sync’ to a bunch of hit songs from today – and the more ridiculous it was the more everyone laughed.
 
Today I watched my daughter be free.
 
Today I realised my daughter is living a happy life and the more I fight to ‘change’ her for the better, the more I am taking away from the life that is already ‘just right’.
 
My daughter has a personality that not everyone enjoys being around and plonk that into a hostile ‘teenage’ middle school environment – things can get a little (sometimes a lot) nasty.
 
Yet my daughter does not ‘give a dam’ and that is priceless to watch.
 
All through our school years some struggle to ‘fit in’ because we might be a little ‘different’, some even curb their enthusiasm and mould themselves to be something they are not in order to be ‘accepted’.  
 
Then, the school years finish, the ‘real world’ sets in and life starts to take a change.  We begin to realise that different is good, actually different is great, different brings a spice to the world that many more people enjoy verses a select few that may reject.
 
Slowly we realise that what people enjoy is authenticity and living an authentic life is living a happy life – and as a parent that is what I wish for, for ALL my daughters.
 
I do not know what lies ahead for my “Maria”.
 
I could tell you she is destined for greatness but you would just think I am an over zealous mother, and may be I am – either way I must not allow myself to contain her personality in order to meet my demands on how a young girl should be.
 
I am pretty sure she is going to piss a few people off along the way and I am pretty sure she is going to be bloody happy as she lives it! What else can this mother wish for – I am never going to be able to catch her and pin her down and why would I want that, if she is happy I am happy!
 
Go get ’em girl!
 
……here is an excerpt from the song
 
“How do you solve a problem like Maria”
 
I’d like to say a word in her behalf
Maria makes. me. laugh.
 
How do you solve a problem like Maria?
How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?
How do you find a word that means Maria?
A flibbertijibbet! A will-o’-the wisp! A clown!
 
Many a thing you know you’d like to tell her
Many a thing she ought to understand
But how do you make her stay
And listen to all you say
How do you keep a wave upon the sand
 
Oh, how do you solve a problem like Maria?
How do you hold a. moonbeam. in. your. hand?
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
 
 PS – Happy Birthday Sis
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

