Chasing the LIKE

Google Images

 
 
 
 
Our daughters are currently attending an American International School here in Santiago Chile, and in just three short weeks their first school year in South America comes to a close.
 
The girls have exceeded our expectations not only with excellent school results, they have also shown a level of maturity far beyond their years. (in some parts)
 
Maybe when they are fighting over who gets the last ‘pink starburst’, there is not a lot of anything ‘mature’ going on – know what I mean!
 
I remember back in the early days when we first arrived at school, every new introduction was followed with a “yes we are a newbie family” – back then you could never leave the school car park without obtaining someones contact details.
 
Making friends came so easy to all of us.
 
‘Coffee mornings’ were endless for months in a row, not to mention the sleepover invitations for the bigger girls.  
 
Then, after awhile the invitations stop coming so fast and freely.
 
The look of despair and helplessness that sat so uncomfortably upon my face for months had been past on to the next wave of  ‘newbie families’ arriving at the school gate.
 
It was time for me to reach out and become a friend to someone new and in need.
 
Funny enough the girls were experiencing the same challenges in the school yard.  
 
As fast as friendships were made in the beginning, they began to dissolve months later.
 
Watching my girls navigate through these emotions with little to no assistance from me or their dad, was a remarkable eye opener.  Our daughters didn’t chase the crowd, they didn’t change their behaviour to remain with ‘the cool’ group – they found themselves being their free spirited goofy self and seeing who fell to the side with them, so they could all be free spirited and goofy together.
 
In their mind they are cool just the way they are – they are not looking for someone to validate their presence.
 
As their parent, I am in awe seeing this behaviour in my eleven and ten year old unfold before my eyes.  
 
All those times chatting to our daughters about how important it is to be authentic as you journey through this world, looks like it found its place and embedded itself into their spirit.  
 
Only in watching the wonderful behaviour of our daughters did I come to realise that through my writing here at SorrentoMoon I have not been practicing what I wish to instil in our children.
 
Every time I publish a new post or update my Facebook account, release a new intention into the world (intent.com) or send my daily quote out into the universe (celebrateyoucards.wordpress.com) I sit in hope and anticipation that I will become the next big thing everyone is talking about in the social networking sphere.
 
I look so intently for someone to LIKE me, for someone to tell me what a wonderful piece that was.  I am looking outwards towards a stranger to validate my work and my craft – something I have never done in my entire life.
 
I have always had a strong sense of self worth – well I thought I did anyways.
 
That was until this whole new world of social network applications came into our lives and encouraged us me to chase down the validation from a wider world for a quick glimpse of fame or recognition and maybe even a chance to earn a penny or two.
 
Am I the only one that feels this way?
 
Living vicariously through our online social sites can not be healthy for our soul!
 
Why am I placing SO. MUCH. WEIGHT. on this style of documentation of my self worth.
 
Facebook will morph into something else in years to come, blogging will be ‘old school’ in how we communicate with others, youtube will close its doors and make way for something bolder and flashier, 
 
The most important people in my world I connect with daily in some way shape or form – I share with them my hopes, good fortune and adversity, and they still love me.
 
I write because it helps offload the tornado of thoughts and stories whirling around in my head.  
 
I have an online presence because I live far away from the people that wiped my bottom when I was a baby.
 
I have SorrentoMoon because it makes me feel connected to the world.
 
If my hubby, my mum, dad, sisters, brother and BFF are the only people that see my work I need to realise that I. will. be. Ok.
 
I wish you well with your endeavours throughout your online journey and I hope you find what your are looking for.
 
For me, I will stop looking for your validation and continue travelling on this road, attempting to leave a little trail of ramblings and wisdom for my kids to one day flick through and laugh about.
 
Cheers, 
SorrentoMoon
 
 PS – I hope you like the make-over!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
One comment

  1. Louise Banks · June 2, 2013

    Good for you – keep up the writing as I always enjoy reading what his happening with you and the family – Louise

    Like

Leave a Reply

