If it’s round make a sound. If it’s square don’t you dare!…Love Aunt Barbara

 

Google Images

 
 
Many moons ago when our second born was brand new and our eldest was 16 months old, I figured I needed to get out more.
 
Alone time was precious, so I became pretty choosey about how I spent my time.
 
Really?
 
NO!
 
I was just happy to get out.
 
This one occasion back aeons ago, I was presented with two choices; I could accompany an old work colleague to a ‘time share’ seminar or a bunch of girlfriends and I could attend a Tupperware ‘bring a friend along’ night, which was really code for ‘become a Tupperware representative, today!’
 
While I thought time share sounded fabulous and the idea of travelling around the world with access to all sort of wonderful accommodation would be brilliant – I just couldn’t see when we would get time to travel, so I opted for the night out with the girlfriends.
 
Keeping in mind I was on a promise from Fran the Tupperware lady.
 
Her promise carrot would be drinks, food and free Tupperware.
 
Now who doesn’t love free stuff?!
 
My girlfriends and I couldn’t stop laughing from the fear of the unknown and I think maybe one of us may have wet our pants (whoops) All this and we hadn’t even got out of the car yet. 
 
friend 1:           “I’m just here for the free stuff, I’m not selling Tupperware”,
 
friend 2:           “If we have to hold hands and sing songs, I’m outta there”
 
me:                   “My boobs are about to explode, this better not go on for too long”
 
Boom!
 
Fast forward 2 hours and I was holding an agenda with pen poised ready to start booking parties.
 
It was so easy, I handed over little and started getting huge returns within weeks and this continued on for months.
 
I was mixing it with the big time, I was holding parties, I was packing and stashing boxes and I was counting cash.
 
I loved my parties, I loved getting out and sticky peaking into other peoples pantries and I loved selling Tupperware.
 
Then it all dried up.
 
I managed to get through everyone I knew and my networking skills needed a rework.
 
I needed to think of something, I needed to have an edge, something that would make them choose me over another Tupperware consultant.
 
So I thought maybe I could come up with some new recipes or buy some plastic fruit to display in the containers (for the visual people amongst us)
 
It wasn’t working.
 
I didn’t have an edge.
 
I was missing the WOW factor.
 
I lost interest.
 
So I packed up my boxes put my ‘modular mates’ away and went back to lunch dates with Oprah.
 
Sometimes I think maybe I left too early, maybe I should have stayed at it longer, perhaps investing in different styles of plastic foods…….
 
…….Then along came Aunt Barbara from Long Island New York. 
 
(CLICK HERE TO MEET AUNT BARBARA)
 
Clearly I was never going to make it big in Tupperware I was coming at it from all the wrong angles.
 
And I thought more plastic fruit was going to win me more clients.
 
What was I thinking!
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
 
 
 
2 comments

  1. Bernie · March 7, 2013

    OMG! Where do you find this stuff! LOL! Love Aunt Bar bar ra ……
    Different….Unusual….Different…Noice…

    Like

    • SorrentoMoon · March 7, 2013

      If only Mum had kept her dresses from the 60’s I would have been a rockin’ Aunt Barb, don’t you think – Wait! don’t answer that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

