Stiff Peaks

                                                                                                                              Google Images
 
 
 
Can I try this quick little exercise on you? It will take just a minute.
 
Oh hang on, it involves closing your eyes – so clearly that’s not going to work because you need to keep on reading in order to complete the exercise. 
 
Now that’s funny, that’s up there with me taking off the ‘s’ bend pipe under the sink last night, realising it was full of water and then pouring the water back down the sink.  Doh!
 
OK, so I will have to come at it from a different angle.
 
Picture this;
 
You are sitting at a table with a 3D globe of the world, a 1D flat colourful map of the world, a plain piece of paper and pen, a microphone, and a laptop opened on ‘power point’.
 
You are now asked to teach a six year old how the earth, the sun and the moon all work together to make day turn into night and night turn into day. (For the sake of the exercise let’s all assume we have a degree in Astronomy)
 
From the objects sitting on the table which of the following would you gravitate towards to assist you with explaining your answer to the child? 
 
There is no correct answer and it is not a trick question, just sit with the exercise for a minute and imagine yourself attempting to complete the task.
 
Me, I would go straight to the laptop and make a power point presentation and most likely sync it to music. 
 
My hubby I am guessing would use the plain piece of paper and pen, most likely end up with a combination of point form notes and hand drawn sketches.
 
The idea behind my little exercise (which comes with no professional backing or support, just me attempting to make a point) was to get you to pause for a moment and be conscious about how you ‘learn and teach’.
 
It took me thirty plus years to realise that I am a visual aid learner and teacher.  All the information I gather and store sits in my head like a never ending movie.  I struggle to retain information that is delivered in note form or verbally.  When someone tells me their name for the first time I have to write it in the air with my pretend pen as they spell it out to me.  Not a good party trick when you meet someone for the first time – but at least I remember their name.
 
When I left home and had to start cooking for myself I struggled immensely with following a recipe.  To this day I still have to read and re-read the same line over and over again until I fully comprehend what I am suppose to do.
 
“Light and fluffy”, “stiff peaks”, “moist and tender”, “crunchy and golden”, “fold in”, “rest”, and what about “it’s done when the skewer comes out clean” my skewers never come out clean so in theory it should still be in the oven cooking.  These terms and descriptions are all just intimidating words on paper to me.
 
Where is my visual aid?
 
Thank the lord for advancements in technology. 
 
I now have an Ipad
 
I have now discovered new ways of learning that work for me.
 
Would you believe, I have revisited basic arithmetic and thriving with a new skills set of how to retain my times tables. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckwz_vbWbes)
 
Forty years old people. Forty!
 
Over the weekend I came across this YouTube video on how to make “Scones”.  Clearly the visual aid worked for me, check out my results below.
 
 
 
 
They forget to mention the full ingredients in the video so in case you are interested I have included the recipe at the bottom of my post.  Go on, try it! I know you want to!
 
Here are my results
 
 
Just out of the oven!

Just out of the oven!

Ready to eat, yummy!

Ready to eat, yummy!

 
Not bad aay! (That’s for my Canadian friends aay!)
 
Switched on and tuned in, I am ready to learn.
 
PS – that’s a bloody long post just for a scone recipe – Geez Louise!
 
PPS – In Oz it just turned 6th December, so in theory – it’s my birthday HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
 
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
 
 

Margaret Fulton’s Scone Recipe

Serves 4

• 3 cups self raising flour
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 60g butter
• 1 ¼ cups milk or buttermilk

1. Preheat oven to 230C or 210C fan. Lightly grease and flour a baking tray. Sift flour and salt into a bowl. Rub in butter until mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs.

2. Add nearly all the milk at once and mix in quickly with a knife. Add remaining milk if needed and pull dough together into a rough ball. Turn out on to a floured board and knead by turning and pressing with heel of hand 3 or 4 times. Pat out to a 2cm thick round and cut into 4cm rounds with a floured cutter. Gather scraps together, knead lightly and cut out.

3. Place scones close together on a lightly greased baking tray. Brush tops with a little milk and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until well-risen and golden. For soft scones, wrap in a tea towel as soon as they come from oven. For crusty scones, do not wrap, cool slightly on a wire rack. Serve warm with butter or with jam and cream.

Fruit scones – follow recipe for scones, stirring in 1-2 teaspoon sugar and ½ cup sultanas or currant after rubbing in butter. Add little grated orange or lemon rind can also be added.
Cheese scones – follow recipe for scones, stirring in 1/3 cup grated well-flavoured cheddar cheese, ¼ teaspoon dry mustard and a good pinch of cayenne, after rubbing in butter.

For more great recipes and handy cooking tips from Margaret Fulton subscribe to the free St George Home Chef newsletter at our website www.sga.com.au

 
thanks to http://www.lifestylefood.com.au/articles/margaret-fultons-scone-recipe.aspx for the recipe.
 
 
2 comments

  1. Bernie · December 5, 2012

    SNAP ! – we are definitely made from the same gene pool – just yesterday I had an AAhh moment at work when I verbalised to my boss that I finally understood what he was saying when I pictured the screen shot in my head and visually saw the field I had to change. Prior to that he was talk, talk talking and I just did not get it. Yahoo!

    You still make me laugh – just like when we were kids sitting around the dinner table at Mincha Avenue and this tiny little person just kept talking and smiling and the bigger kids stopped arguing so we could all laugh together 🙂

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Lil Sis – love you heaps.

    Like

    • SorrentoMoon · December 5, 2012

      Thanks big sis…….so you sayin at 41 I’ve still got it !! Thanks I’ll take that !

      Like

Leave a Reply

