I GOT A HAIR-CUT!

 
Our very first pregnancy resulted in a miscarriage.  Two other couples in our circle of friends had their babies 9 months on and we didn’t.  I got a hair-cut!
 
My boyfriend Brett broke up with me. After I burnt our photos in the kitchen sink, I got a hair-cut!
 
Craig, the guy I asked to my Year12 formal turned me down, I dyed my hair red. (Box said strawberry blonde – it lied)
 
Two days after my wedding and one day before my honeymoon, I got a hair-cut, I mean, I GOT A HAIR-CUT (lost it all, went short, from an up do, to a short bob – gone!)
 
The other day one of the Aussie ex-pat mums here in Chile said she was a hairdresser – so, I got a hair-cut!
 
It’s never really about the hair-cut is it girls – It’s really about what else is going on in our lives and somehow we decide to ‘mark it’ with a bloody hair-cut.
 
I am not enjoying my life at the moment and somehow I decided to roll all my problems into the fact that my hair was long and grey – so if I had a change of hair style my ‘shitty situation ’ would all wash away.
 
Well it didn’t, my hair is short and blonde and I still feel shitty about things.
 
Changing countries, changing language, changing hemispheres, changing my ‘normal’ has to manifest somehow in one’s life and it has finally caught up with me and I am not enjoying the reflection in the mirror.
 
The current relationship I have with my girls is all about being angry, I hate angry – it means I am not happy.  My marriage is all about tolerance – I hate tolerance, it means I have lost the fire in my belly.
 
Life is moving at a pace I am unfamiliar with and to be frank (whoever frank is) I don’t like it!
 
I will manage to move through the cycle, I always do.  I will manage to come out the other side, I always do. 
 
I need for you not to worry I have everything under control – all will be fine – I give it about six weeks to settle down.
 
Why, because I have booked in for another hair-cut.
 
Cheers
SorrentoMoon
 
 
 
6 comments

  1. Ursula Ladner · September 11, 2012

    Hey my friend, don’t need to ask how you’re doing – just read your blog …. When would be a good time to have a chat tomorrow? Too tired now – getting up early for school, needs some adjustment time 😉 let me know what works best for you! Have a good night!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

    • SorrentoMoon · September 11, 2012

      Always a good time to chat – except maybe when I need my sleep and when mornings come around far too quickly….I think I am getting to old for this job – What is an appropriate age to retire from motherhood ?

      Like

  2. lisaharper · September 11, 2012

    I bet your haircut looks gorgeous! I guess you know more than any of us, things will settle eventually. I can’t imagine how difficult it is with such a huge cultural barrier, and a huge shift in life. Thoughts are with you and your family D, Here’s a HUGE HUG! xxx Lisa

    Like

    • SorrentoMoon · September 11, 2012

      Thank you so much Lisa – Sometimes the simple life is most often the best. I bet after your fantastic holiday getting home and living amongst the “familiar” makes you enjoy all you have even more. Kisses to you and your beautiful family.

      Like

  3. Minnie75 · September 12, 2012

    I got a haircut too!!!! It hasn’t changed my ‘shitty situation’ either 😦 Ha! Ha!

    Thinking of you xx

    Like

    • SorrentoMoon · September 12, 2012

      I’m thinking more than a hair-cut is going to help me now – Full make-over could change my situation ever so slightly. Big Kisses to your baby for her 2nd birthday also xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

