Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi !

Google Images

It would be remiss of me to neglect the obvious and begin writing without acknowledging that we have made it into a new year. 
 
Welcome everyone, welcome to 2012.  The Chinese year of ‘The Dragon’.  (The family and I went out for a Chinese buffet dinner tonight and it was on my placemat. I normally don’t remember that sort of stuff.)
 
I have a really great feeling about this year, something in my bones is telling me that TwentyTwevle is going to be my year of extreme personal growth and I am so excited to embark on that journey. (or it could be arthritis starting to kick in!)
 
Ok, so now that the housekeeping is out of the way I will bring you up to speed with my Aussie adventures.  From my prior posts you would have gathered that I was extremely homesick and at one point madly counting down sleeps for our Christmas New Year visit back home.  Well you will be happy to know that we made it, we enjoyed it and we savoured every single moment.
 
In a nutshell:
 
There was long exhausting flights, vomiting children in customs lines, a photo opportunity with home grown ‘star’ Jamie Durie, a fender bender in our rental car, catching up with everyone, yet feeling like we still missed people, condensing 12 months worth of highs and lows into a snap shot in time, many strolls along the beach, Christmas day spent with family, lunch with old neighbours, dinners with uncles, aunts, nieces, nephews, brothers, sisters, big cousins and little cousins, coffee on the beach with old school mums, early morning jogs and uninterrupted lattes with my hubby, madly dashing around the shopping mall organising the Santa sacks, quietly holding my mum’s hand on the 9 year death anniversary of her son, my brother, clinging on to only four hours with my best friend and realising that has to get us through another 12 months apart, celebrating our baby’s 3rd birthday, a day spa and a massage spent with a sister and a lunch spent with my mum and a sister (no kids allowed, priceless!), rainy days, sunny days, fish and chips, the unforgettable smell of the Australian Aerogard (fly repellent), an opportunity for my sister to show me her new home and actually sit in her space and enjoy it with her.
 
Finally, there was all those unspoken moments, like sitting at the breakfast table with my dad and sharing his morning fruit with him, mum talking with me while I was hanging out the washing, having a ‘cat nap’ just before dinner and realising that my kids would still get fed if I slept right through. (thanks Mum) Whatever the moment and whoever I was celebrating it with my time spent in Australia with family and friends was well worth the wait and I am already looking forward to meeting up with you all again sometime in our future together. 
 
Thanks for the memories, oh and by the way, Happy Australia Day for the 26th of January.
 

Happy Australia Day

 
 
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
 
 
One comment

  1. Nuala · January 22, 2012

    I soaked up every word & thoroughly enjoyed your trip with you all albeit, virtually. It makes me long for a trip to Ireland & makes me miss my folks terribly. So thrilled that you all returned safely with such wonderful memories. I look forward to your next post.
    Nuala

    Like

Leave a Reply

