From me, to you…..

Have you ever found yourself thinking why is it that people can come into our lives and stay forever, while others barely stop for coffee and yet they both can have the same impact on us regardless?

I treasure my friendships, I really do.  I don’t have many, but boy the ones I have, I know I’m suppose to have.  Friendships are tricky – They are like investing in the share market, some can be long-term investments paying great dividends over time, while others can be a quick short-term stock with an equally high gain.  Some you have to work at – yet others take no effort at all. For whatever reasons these people come into our lives, they all have a special task to perform in helping us achieve the best we can be.  So here’s a BIG shout out to all the friends in my world helping me be the best I can be.  Many thanks to you!

If you will let me indulge for a short moment…..I would like to share with you a letter I penned to a dear friend attempting to jump-start her fading spirit.  And upon reflection of the message, I found myself thinking how therapeutic that was for me – It got me wondering could it possibly help others too…..

 Dearest Trish,
 My darling bestie; did you know that we are coming up to knowing each other for 25 years.  Yes, that’s right, I did the maths, because I recently sent in a letter to Oprah informing them and anyone who would read my note just how much you mean to me!  Sadly I didn’t hear anything back – I think it’s my letter writing skills, not you!
 
Enough about me, now that I have attempted to warm my audience up with some faint (very faint) humour; I will address the serious side of my correspondence to you.  I am very worried for you and the current head space you are living in.  I am a true believer that the lord never gives us anything in life that he knows we can’t handle.  And although we may be living it and sitting in ‘dark’ days or ‘sad’ days or ‘angry’ days for much longer than we had hoped for – He already knew that we had the strength, the will and the power to lift ourselves out of that place and move towards a happier, healthier, more spiritual environment once we stopped and actually listened to his voice in our own heart. 
 
By no means am I trying to get all holy on you Trish, because I believe it’s stronger than that – I believe it’s the combination of Mind, Body and Spirit.  Once we can get that blend at a peaceful balance – things that really matter get our full attention and the rest falls from our load.  I really do believe that once you recognise that the energy you are sending out will be the energy you receive back – Good and Bad, changes will start to occur.
 
Currently what I am hearing from you is that you feel ‘stuck’ in a difficult situation.  Where to go from here……well ask yourself, where do I want to go – because what you are doing now is not working, so something has to change.  And as we get older and wiser we slowly realise that we are not responsible for changing others – the only person we can impact with the power to alter our direction, is ourselves.  And the funniest thing happens along the way, these changes are reflected back to us in the people we thought we wanted to change in the first place.
 
OMG Trish, you are truly a wonderful girlfriend to have and I don’t think you realise just how much I look up to you for advice on motherhood. (& other stuff too)  I feel it’s a very special gift you have the way you embraced becoming a mother.  What you do for your children and the natural way you go about it, is very inspiring to me.  You make mumhood look so fresh and easy-going. 
 
Trish, just sit in the moment for a while, give thanks for the good, guidance to understand the adversity and all the ways the reassurance that only ME, I can change the outcome.
 
Straight from the heart, Love your true friend.
 
Cheers,
SorrentoMoon
One comment

  1. Danielle De Nadai · August 21, 2011

    I love how you liken friendships to the share market. So true. I love it. I also wanted to let you know that even though I don’t always respond to your emails, or write as often as I would like to, I am always thinking of you and your family, especially when I open my skype to see if my brother has skyped me, I see your name. Did you know that Toronto and New York have the same time? So am always thinking of you. Got to go, Will be keeping an eye on your blog. See you for now. Dani

    Like

Leave a Reply

